Passion of our Lord

The Paschal Triduum, also called the Holy Triduum or Easter Triduum, begins this evening and consists of Holy Thursday, Good Friday, Holy Saturday, and ends with Easter Day. It commemorates the heart of our faith: the suffering, death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.  The word Triduum comes from the Latin word meaning “three days.”

On this day, we commemorate the Last Supper where Jesus instituted the Sacrament of the Eucharsist.  

Institution of the Eucharist - Last Supper

Holy Thursday also remembers the agony of Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane 

Agony in the Garden

and the betrayal by Judas Iscariot and the arrest of Jesus, events that took place on the night before Jesus’ crucifixion.

Arrest of Jesus

This entry was posted in Easter, Eucharist, Holy Days, Jesus and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s